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WISCONSIN MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE APPLICATION TYPE or PRINT.

(for Mail or In-Person Requests)

PENALTIES: Any person who willfully and knowingly makes a false application for a marriage certificate shall be fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not
more than 90 days, or both, per s. 69.24(2), Wis. Stats. Any person who willfully and knowingly obtains a marriage certificate for fraudulent purposes is guilty of a
Class | felony [a fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment of not more than 3 years and 6 months, or both, per s. 69.24(1), Wis. Stats.].

The information in Section | is about the person completing this application.

YOUR CURRENT NAME - First . Middle | Last YOUR DAYTIME TELEPHONE
: : NUMBER

- Z : :
=z 0 : ' ( )
8 I:: YOUR STREET ADDRESS (CANNOT be a P.O. Box address) Apt. No. MAIL TO ADDRESS (if different) Apt. No.
=
D- 0 0 0 0
& 8 City, Village, or Township ' State ' ZIP Code City ' State ' ZIP Code
= Z i i i i

TYPE OF CURRENT VALID PHOTO ID PHOTO ID NUMBER STATE OF ISSUANCE EXPIRATION DATE

(See item 3 on page 2.)

According to Wisconsin Statute, a CERTIFIED copy of a marriage certificate is only available to those with a “direct and tangible interest" (categories A — E below.)
You may select to receive an uncertified copy if you just need a copy for informational purposes OR if you do not meet the criteria for categories A-E. In that
case, you may check category F below. (See item 1 on page 2 for more details.)

Check one box which indicates YOUR RELATIONSHIP to one of the PERSONS NAMED on the marriage certificate.

I:l A. 1 am one of the persons named on the marriage certificate.
I:l B. 1 am a member of the immediate family of one of the persons named on the marriage certificate. (Only those listed below qualify as immediate family.)
NOTE: Grandchildren, step-parents, step-children, step-brothers/ step-sisters may only obtain certified copies as section I, categories C — E.
CHECK ONE. [J Parent (whose name is on the bride or groom's birth certificate and whose parental rights have not been terminated)
[ Brother / Sister [ Grandparent [ Child
C. I am the legal custodian or guardian of one of the persons named on the marriage certificate. (Legal proof is required. See items 1 and 2 on page 2.)
D. I am arepresentative, authorized in writing, by any of the above checkboxes (categories A - C). (The written and notarized authorization must
be attached to this application. See item 1 on page 2.)
Specify the person you represent:

. I can demonstrate that the information from the marriage certificate is necessary for the determination or protection of a personal or property right for
myself / my client/my agency. (Proof is required.)

Specify your interest

APPLICANT’S RELATIONSHIP TO
RSON(S) NAMED ON THE CERTIFICATE

| O OO
m

F. None of the above. | am requesting an uncertified copy. Copy will not be valid for legal identity or benefit purposes. See Items 1 and 2 on page 2.

P

PURPOSE FOR WHICH CERTIFICATE IS REQUESTED (Specify. This information will assist us in processing your request.)

FEE IS NOT REFUNDABLE IF NO RECORD IS FOUND. CANCELLATIONS ARE NOT ACCEPTED.

m XI Search Fee (includes one copy, if FOUNT) ....ccooiiiuiiiiiiii e $20.00 20.00
E I:l Additional copies of the same certificate issued at the same time as the first copy ... X $ 3.00 $0.00

. Number of Additional Copies $ 20.00
= TOTAL .

Please check with local county or Wisconsin Register of Deeds website as some counties require money order.

Be sure to include (1) completed form, (2) acceptable identification, (3) any additional proof or authorization
required, (4) self-addressed, business-size envelope, and (5) check or money order.

Make check or money order payable to:
(COUNTY) REGISTER OF DEEDS

i GROOM’S BIRTH NAME - First Middle BIRTH Last Name
Z
VN6
<
¥ <] BRIDE’S BIRTH NAME - First Middle BIRTH Last Name
xS
g o]
. L] LOCATION OF MARRIAGE - City, Village, or Township LOCATION OF MARRIAGE - County DATE OF MARRIAGE (Month/Day/Year)
> g

| hereby attest that the information provided on this application is correct to the best of my knowledge and belief and that | am entitled to copies of the requested
marriage certificate in accordance with the categories listed above.

SIGNATURE Applicant (person named in section I, who is completing this application) Date Signed (Month / Day / Year)

Important: If you do not sign and date this form above A\, your request cannot be processed.

VITAL RECORDS OFFICE USE ONLY Certificate Number
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1. What is the difference between a “certified” and an “uncertified” copy of a marriage certificate?

A certified copy of a marriage certificate issued by the Local Vital Records Office will have a raised seal, will show the signature of the
Local Registrar, and will be printed on security paper. A certified copy may be required to change your last name or to obtain benefits.

State law restricts who may obtain a certified copy of a marriage certificate. A certified copy can only be issued to those people with a
“direct and tangible interest” (section Il, categories A — E) which means the following people:

= The bride or groom named on the marriage certificate (section Il, category A).

= Animmediate family member defined as a parent (whose name is on the bride or groom’s birth certificate and whose parental
rights have not been terminated), brother, sister, grandparent, or child of the subject of the record (section Il, category B).

= NOTE: Grandchildren, step-parents, step-children, step-brothers and step-sisters can only obtain certified copies as section II,
categories C — E.

»= The legal custodian or guardian of the bride or groom named on the marriage certificate. Legal proof, e.g., a court order of custody
or guardianship, is required (section II, category C).

= A person authorized in writing by one of the above. A written and notarized authorization must be attached to this application and
the authorization must clearly state the relationship of the authorizing party to the subject of the record (section Il, category D).

= A person who can demonstrate that the marriage certificate is required to determine or to protect a personal or property right
(section I, category E). Proof is required.

If you do not meet one of the above criteria, you cannot receive a certified copy of a marriage certificate.

An uncertified copy will contain the same information as a certified copy but it is not acceptable for legal purposes, such as claiming
insurance benefits (section II, category F).

2. How long will it take to process my reguest?

Copies of marriage certificates are available from the State Vital Records Office no less than 3 weeks from the date of the marriage.

= Applying in Person
= Requests for certified copies of marriage certificates are usually completed within 2 business hours of application, if
the marriage certificate is on file.
= Requests for uncertified copies of marriage certificates are not completed on the same schedule as requests for
certified copies. In- person requests for uncertified copies may take up to 1 month to complete.

= Applying by Mail
= Requests for certified copies of marriage certificates may take up to 2 weeks plus mail time to complete.

= Requests for uncertified copies of marriage certificates are not completed on the same schedule as certified copies. Mail
requests for uncertified copies may take up to 1 month plus mail time.

3. What identification is required when applying for a certified or uncertified copy of a marriage certificate?

A photocopy of the applicant’s current ID as listed below must be submitted with all mail applications. A current ID as listed below is
required when applying in-person.

At least one form of ID must show your current name and current address. Expired cards or documents will not be accepted.

The acceptable forms of identification are:

One of these: OR Two of these:
» Wisconsin driver’s license = Government-issued employee = Major Credit Card
= Wisconsin photo ID ID card or badge with photo = Health Insurance Card
= Out-of-state driver’s license or photo ID card = US Passport = Recent dated, signed lease

* Check or bank book = Recent utility bill or traffic

ticket
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